How to end a conversation

When you want to end a conversation, there are two ways to do it: Tell the other person to shut up, or shut up yourself.

Once in a while when engaged in blog discussions the other person tells me, “Well, I think it’s about time to wrap this up so this will be the last comment.” Is it just me, or is this rude?

I know I can be a pest and a windbag, so I’m not usually surprised when people have had enough of me. But I am often surprised when otherwise kind and reasonable people, sometimes even professed Christians, are so blatantly rude about it.

Personally, when I want to end a conversation I generally simply stop. Either I say, “Well, it’s been nice but I’m going to stop now.” Or I just stop. I never tell the other person to stop. If he wants to keep going with no one around to read or respond, that’s up to him.

How about you?

8 thoughts on “How to end a conversation

  1. I don’t recall ever ending a blog conversation. Sometimes I get distracted and don’t return to a conversation, but it can be difficult to keep track of so many threads at times. I also find it odd when people end a discussion in the manner you’ve indicated, but I understand that they often don’t want to fully explore their opinion or can simply get bored and want to move on.

    The surest sign someone is losing an argument is when they wrap up with “I’ll let you have the last word on this”. They know they’ve lost but want to maintain the illusion of control.

    Like

  2. Violet:

    No, I certainly didn’t have you in mind. We disagree strongly but I appreciated being allowed to have my full say on your blog, and I hope I will always extend the same courtesy to you.

    I don’t mind someone telling me that he’s giving me the last word, so much as the blog owner taking the last word for himself! That always strikes me as astonishingly rude.

    Like

  3. It wasn’t my intention to criticize anyone personally, but just to put my point of view out there and see if anyone agreed with me, or if I was being overly sensitive. And maybe get people to think about it from the point of view of the person on the receiving end.

    Like

    • It depends on whose blog it is. The owner of blog certainly has the option to “shut down” a conversation at their disposal. Ive had it happen to me several times. Im fine with it

      Like

  4. Of course he has the option. And the owner of a house has the right to shut down conversation at the dinner table any time he wants to, and kick everyone out. That doesn’t mean it’s not rude.

    Like

  5. Lucas:

    I wanted to clarify that I don’t put you in the “astonishingly rude” category. I had someone else in mind when I said that.

    Like

  6. Pingback: excatholic4christ knows your faith better than you do | Petty Armchair Popery

Leave a Reply

