Do you live what you think, or think what you live?

Fulton J. Sheen said the following in a talk titled “Conscience” (paraphrased from memory):

A man of the theater made an appointment with me. He said, “During backstage conversations I have admitted that I used to be Catholic, but that I had done a lot of studying of comparative religions and metaphysics, and no one could answer my questions. Someone said to me, ‘Why don’t you go to Bishop Sheen and have him answer your questions?’ So, here I am.”

I said to him, “First, go back to the hotel you’re staying at and get rid of that chorus girl you’re living with. Then come back and ask me your questions.”

From later in the same lecture:

When people don’t live what they think, they soon begin to think what they live.

Leave a Reply

